Lovest Thou He? (Poem)

Favour Olumese
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2022
A man teaching on a podium with the quote, “Oh my soul, lovest thou Christ? Yes? Then keep His word and feed His sheep” on the background.
Image by Author

Oh my soul,
Lovest thou He
More than these things?

Lovest thou He more than
Affluence, power
And fame?

Art thou ready to feed His sheep
When thy name would have
No record in history books?

Art thou willing to be prosecuted
For His name
And will?

Wilt thou go all the way
To preach His word?
Oh my soul, how great is thy love?

Canst thou claim thy love
for Him
Is pure and true?

Canst thou proclaim
That you love Him
With all of thee?

Oh my soul, lovest thou He
More than these? Yes?
Then keep His word
And feed His sheep.

#OhMySoul

“Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.” (Matthew 22:37‭-‬40, KJV).

“So when they had dined, Jesus saith to Simon Peter, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me more than these? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee. He saith unto him, Feed my lambs. He saith to him again the second time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee. He saith unto him, Feed my sheep. He saith unto him the third time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? Peter was grieved because he said unto him the third time, Lovest thou me? And he said unto him, Lord, thou knowest all things; thou knowest that I love thee. Jesus saith unto him, Feed my sheep.” (John 21:15‭-‬17, KJV).

“If ye love me, keep my commandments.” (John 14:15).

--

--

Favour Olumese
Writers’ Blokke

Favour Olumese is a lover of the creative use of words who utilises poetry & non-fiction to relate humanity and divinity in this ticking phase called life.