Medium “Surprise” Was More About Acknowledgement

Write even when no one is watching

Shreya Badonia 🧨
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
4 min readMay 14, 2021

--

As a frequent Medium reader, I am sure you must have read many articles about Medium giving away bonuses to top 1000s writers on the platform.

The bonus was based on the most number of reads, claps, and engagement. I was surprised to be one of the thousand writers who received the bonus. I joined the bandwagon and shared my event on LinkedIn.

The number of followers and number of articles written was definitely not the parameters taken into account. Nobody knows the reason behind this generous gesture, and we can only guess. However, there are some exciting things to inspect.

The surprise was a brilliant move by the management. As a marketing person, I can see how the company might have benefitted from the free word of mouth publicity.

Once people see results, they want to a part of the bandwagon. It attracted a lot of potential writers and drove the traffic of curious souls to scrutinize our work.

After posting my status about the bonus, I received a dozen messages from people asking how to join the Medium Partner Program.

Among these commotions and assumptions, the real winners were people who simply appreciated the gesture and got back to work. Like…

--

--

Shreya Badonia 🧨
Writers’ Blokke

Multi-passionate creator | visual thinker living an island life 🏝️ Join my weekly newsletter 📣 https://shreyasls.substack.com/