Medium Writers: Pick One of These Profile Pin Strategies

Otherwise, readers can’t find your latest posts on their mobile app

Adrienne Parkhurst
Writers’ Blokke

--

Close up of hands typing on laptop computer
Photo by Mel Poole on Unsplash

When I read online, I want to quickly find my favorite authors’ posts. But, that’s not happening on the Medium mobile app anymore.

I see that authors have new posts, but it takes too long to find them.

As a result, I get frustrated with the process and leave an author’s profile page, not knowing if I read their latest post or not.

This is how I feel when I use the Medium mobile app.

Curious

I see the little number hover above Sally’s profile picture on my mobile Medium app.

Cool. Sally has a new post.

I click on Sally’s picture to see her latest post.

Irritated

The first post appears. It’s from three months ago. I read it already. I scroll down and see another article that I read a month ago.

Nope. Already read that.

I scroll through three more articles that I previously skipped or read. Read it. Skipped it. Read it. Sigh. This is taking forever.

Relieved

--

--

Adrienne Parkhurst
Writers’ Blokke

Mom. Wife. Writer. Editor. Healthcare Freelance Writer. Lifetime Learner. Flawed Leader. Sharing my life lessons through personal essays and memoirs.