Medium’s Problem with Influencers

Why can’t Medium focus on Honest Writing

Andrew Briley
Writers’ Blokke
2 min readJun 29, 2020

--

Medium seems to have followed the wave of social media influencers. Day in day out, the same writers get their re-written self-help papers curated.

I find it kind of toxic and repelling. I don’t want to be a self-help writer to be successful, and frankly, I find it kind of disturbing that’s what is so prevalent in Medium’s publications.

These self-help-type papers are written by people who have the same emotions, struggles, and tendencies of all us other perceived non-successful Medium writers. They’re not gurus in life and happiness. They’ve simply figured out how to write content that will get curated.

They’re writing as social media influencers. They write self-help because that’s what’s in on Medium. Just like Instagram loves food, nature, fashion, and architecture, Medium loves to curate posts on how to be happy or how to be successful.

Why can’t Medium focus on quality writing rather than play their hand in the influencing game?

I’m a voracious reader — that’s why I came to Medium. But now, I find it difficult to find something genuinely worth reading on any major Medium publication. I want honest writing that the author truly cares about.

I don’t want you to tell me how you made $1000 in your first month on Medium. I couldn’t care less. Tell a story. Write a poem. Create a thoughtful piece about society.

I don’t want to shame any writers, here, because there is so much talent on Medium. I just want a little more diversity, creativity, and divergence from self-help and the Medium success papers.

--

--