My 10 Steps To Becoming A Published Author

A completely made-up list I created for myself and maybe others will be inspired too

Nathalie Saint-Clair
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Super Snapper on Unsplash

There are probably something like 10,310 articles on Medium about writing. The majority of what I’ve come across is about freelance writing. How to make a butt ton of money writing on these 38 sites or doing affiliate marketing or a bunch of other stuff that I don’t care about.

But where are the get-rich-quick articles for those of us who just want to write short stories and publish a novel? Oh yea that doesn’t exist. The advice: just keep writing. It’s going to be a lot of work. You have to be consistent, but eventually the stars will align and you’ll publish a book and if you market it just right you’ll get 69 sales from the friends and family in your contact list that you harassed. Yay! And of those 69 people, nine of them will read it.

No that’s not what I want! I want thousands of sales (millions seems a bit overzealous) or at least a solid 1,000 and hopefully the majority of them will read it.

So how am I going to make that happen?

Step One: Come on Medium and tell the lovely folks there about it.

So here is the official announcement:

--

--

Nathalie Saint-Clair
Writers’ Blokke

A teacher/writer who is finally getting her shit together & taking this writing thing seriously. Follow my journey to becoming a published author & other stuff!