My Early Morning Writing Habit

Writing first thing in the morning is when I am at my most productive

B.R. Shenoy
Writers’ Blokke

--

Rewrite edit text on a typewriter
Photo by Suzy Hazelwood from Pexels

“Writing is thinking. To write well is to think clearly. That’s why it’s so hard.” — David McCullough

I prioritize my writing for the first one or two hours of the morning. According to Daniel Pink, author of the best-selling book When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing, the peak stage of a person’s typical day takes place before noon, so this is when they are the most alert.

Personally, writing early in the day jump-starts my creativity and stimulates my mind. Some of my best ideas come to me at that time. I find in those early hours that my mind is clear and free of mental clutter.

Most importantly, by writing bright and early, I ensure I am at my optimal energy levels. As the day goes on, I feel more lethargic, and my energy levels dwindle due to the demands imposed on me.

There are no interruptions. Everyone is still asleep. The house is quiet, and I can get most of the arduous work out of the way.

I genuinely enjoy those special hours of uninterrupted “me” time when I can write to my heart’s content.

--

--

B.R. Shenoy
Writers’ Blokke

Editor: The Shortform, Dancing Elephants Press, & Good Vibes Club•Globetrotter • Expat on 3 Continents• Boosted and Top Writer • MS Toxicology• Proud Mom of 2.