My Friends Are Missing And I Don’t Know What to Do

This has been going on for a month now…

Jeremy Lipzinski
Writers’ Blokke
3 min readMay 24, 2022

--

Photo by Alekon pictures on Unsplash

In general, I believe that consistent effort and patience always win. That I can make anything in life happen through consistency and time. But this situation has me wondering if certain things in life are just completely out of my reach.

My friends have fallen off the map. Disappeared. Perhaps not literally, I don’t think anyone has formed a search party to go out looking for them. Someone probably even knows where they are. But I haven’t heard from them in over a month. I have been calling and texting them at least once or twice a week to no avail. I’ve asked around to people that might have been in contact with them and no one has heard from them. They just… disappeared.

The guy, let’s call him “Andy”, used to work for me as a photographer and videographer for my clothing company years ago. During that time we became very close and I still consider him to be one of my closest friends. He and his fiancé, let’s call her “Rachel”, moved back to my side of the state six months ago. They both took jobs working for a local manufacturing company and they both had some problems with that company. They seemed generally disinterested in the work and unexcited about the company management. Andy always wanted to direct and film documentaries and Rachel is a painter; and a very good one at that.

My younger sister also works for that manufacturing company and informed me about a month ago that they quit working for the company, no notice given, just left. She hasn’t heard from either of them since. At that point, I had been trying to reach them for a week or so with no response. When she told me this, I doubled my efforts. I began calling and texting multiple times per week despite their lack of responses.

And I heard… nothing.

Crickets.

From either of them.

Here’s an excerpt of my messages to Andy from the beginning of May:

Yes, I know a spelled “whether” wrong. I blame autocorrect, or lack thereof.

I recently contacted Rachel’s sister and mother, who they were living with, via Facebook to see if they have any info on where they are or how they’re doing. Hoping I can get some kind of information soon.

In the meantime, I’ll just keep telling myself “consistent effort and patience is the key to all things”.

If you haven’t done it in a while, this is your sign to check on your friends.

If you have any similar stories or helpful tips please drop them in the comments, I would love to read them.

--

--

Jeremy Lipzinski
Writers’ Blokke

• Started and grew a Shopify store to $2M+ • Now running a Shopify agency in the Midwest • www.project-parachute.com