My Journey to Making First $1 Through Online Writing

There was frequent hopelessness throughout the journey

Writer's Dream
Writers’ Blokke
3 min readMay 22, 2024

--

A car on a journey through green fields , blue sky and grey mountains. There are clouds but it is overall a sunny day.
<a href=”https://www.vecteezy.com/free-vector/journey">Journey Vectors by Vecteezy</a>

I finally made that first $1 through writing.

When I recall my writing journey, I become nostalgic about the voyage to making this first dollar in writing.

The journey was not always smooth and dreamy. It was like a sinusoidal curve — sometimes hitting the rock bottom of hopelessness and spiraling up with motivation and inspiration.

No idea phase

When I started writing, I had no idea what to write. My first post had no content formatting and a clear takeaway for the readers. It’s because I was unaware of these.

Later on, I learned about different writing techniques. After a few months, I realized I loved writing about lifestyle productivity and writing tips. I continued writing. But again, I did not find a clear idea of what free product I would create.

Nevertheless, I continued writing and reading.

Two people look confused while discussing on a matter
https://blush.design/

Hopelessness phase

There was a time when I could not write and publish too many articles per week. I thought of giving up writing due to demotivation.

I paused for a few days and realized why I could not write many articles.

  • I aimed to write 1000 words daily. It was difficult for me
  • Editing took a lot of time
  • I started with a blank page
  • How to outline the article confused me

I tried to give a second try to my writing journey by doing a few experiments.

Ray of light(and hope)

I created my writing routine( which is working till today).

  • I figured out my target audience
  • I listed everything I learned about writing and created a short ebook to give away for free
  • On the weekends, I outlined the long-form content of that ebook. ( I would write 1–2 long forms per week).
  • Every day before starting the day, I promised myself to write 150-word short-form content about the ebook.
  • I would answer one Quora answer daily.
  • Daily 2x tweet posts and 3x commenting on other posts
  • Weekly 1x newsletter and 1x tweet thread.

This routine worked wonders for me. It allowed me to publish 3–4 contents weekly.

It re-ignited the writing motivation within me.

A young girl is rejoicing
https://blush.design/

My First $1 through writing

Recently, I made my first $1 through writing. It was beyond my expectations. I felt so happy that I could not figure out how to express my happiness. After the excitement and joy settled, I thought about the next steps.

What to do with online writing?

After analyzing it, I realized I would want to create another detailed free ebook on different writing techniques.

A list of writing techniques that the author is focusing on right now.
https://x.com/IpshitaBose7/status/1789863674619773055

Educated about the benefits of the book

After I complete the ebook, I would promote it in my articles and newsletters by educating the readers about the benefits of acquiring those writing skills.

I often thought about what would be the last milestone of my writing journey. But writing for 18 months made me realize there is no final destination — it’s all about setting new adventures and exploring new possibilities that would bring fun and creativity to writing.

Click here for the free ebook from which I got 13 new subscribers and the first $1 through writing.

--

--