State Auditor Journey| Work | Gadgets

My Macbook Air Kept Crashing!

Is Apple Intentionally Slowing them Down?

Jennica Rose
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Daniel Thomas on Unsplash

I’m a State Auditor by profession and relatively speaking it involves a bulk load of work-related documents. I have been in this career for more than a decade and someone who keeps telling me to save all my documents in a hard drive, and reboot or reset my laptop gets on my nerves, could you just imagine 10 years of documents and the time it will take to save them.

To begin with, I have a Dropbox and an I-cloud account so memory is not much of a problem.
So here’s my tale. My laptop is my 2nd most used gadget next to my phone. Basically, my work-life revolves around it. In prior years, my constant problem was my Windows laptop. Every time I am in the middle of important matters, you guess it right, IT KEEPS ON CRASHING. The laptop works so well in the beginning and it keeps slowing down as years go by.

Luckily, my husband bought me a Macbook Air in CY 2020 with an intel processor, which additionally was in rose gold color giving me all the heaps of joy as a pink lover. On top of its beauty, the Macbook was impressive with its battery life, its keyboard, and just how fast it is!
Since then, I never really had a problem when it comes to my documents.

Fast forward to CY 2023, who would have thought I will now be experiencing my previous laptop nightmares- CRASHING! It began in the last quarter of CY 2022 when my Macbook kept slowing down, keep in mind I still have 172 GB of free memory. More often than not, it kept quitting my Excel and Word every time I’m in use. I had referred this to the service center but unfortunately, they couldn’t help my case as this would take weeks to check based on the initial assessment, repair will cost me an estimate of $600.

My husband took notice of my dilemma that he actually bought me a new one and upgraded it to Macbook Pro M2 (how could I have this sweet man?) and so far, it’s currently doing great. Meanwhile, my Macbook Air was actually reset and is now used by him, and guess again, it’s still encountering the same problem. He noticed how it crashes and is bugged compared to the newer Macbooks.

I can’t help but think about whether or not Apple is intentionally slowing down older models considering that in 2017 they admitted to slowing down older iPhone models with degraded batteries to prevent unexpected shutdowns. I have also searched for relevant articles and videos online but I couldn’t find what perfect way to help my Macbook Air. I hope my new gadget will not undergo the same trouble.

To Apple experts, what are your thoughts about this? Would love to hear your comments.

--

--

Jennica Rose
Writers’ Blokke

A State Auditor. Unfolding Stories from Work and life to Scoops, Short Stories and recreationals.