My Own Plot Twists Surprise Me

Cee R.
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
3 min readJun 21, 2021

--

‘The Writer Diaries — My Own Plot Twists Surprise Me’ written in a handwriting-style font, with a picture of a hand holding a pencil finishing off the last word
Image: author’s own, made with Canva; ‘The Writer Diaries’ was part of the original title of this post on my personal blog, Dora Reads

“Holy sh**!”

These are the words I’ve just written on paper. Hand-written, in ballpoint pen, in my multi-coloured Crayola notebook (all the cool kids have them! 😉😎)

They’re words I’ve given to one of the characters from my Work in Progress (WIP), Dan, as he realises something ground-breaking that makes everyone look at the situation entirely differently.

…It’s a sentiment I fully endorse, because I have no clue where this plot twist came from.

And, with wide eyes, my only statement at this moment can only be an echoed, ‘Holy sh**.’

(Only I can’t swear because my mother, so it was more like ‘Holy…’ and then trailing off.)

Because it makes sense. The plot twist makes sense.

And I didn’t see it coming.

Sure, there are a few pre-written sections which no longer fit with this development, but due to the patchwork way I write, that’s really nothing new.

I write each section with the expectation that it may never make it into the finished novel -

--

--

Cee R.
Writers’ Blokke

Writer, poet, (book) blogger @ dorareads.co.uk , Queer, weird, & a tad peculiar. Bookish rebel. Welsh as a tractor on the M4. Buy me a coffee @ ko-fi.com/ceearr