Narcissism, Jesus, and Leftover Women Are My Most Popular Articles on News Break

What does that say about my readers? What does it say about me?

Carol Lennox. LPC, M.Ed.
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Luis Cortes on Unsplash. Woman with sheet of newspaper over her head.

The demographics of News Break, or so I’ve been told by the platform, are mostly from the U.S. Deep South, with some narrow swaths of the east and west coast. They’re mostly men, older, and generally conservative. I’m female, from the very liberal city of Austin, Texas, and I lean way left. These folks aren’t my normal demographic, but who knows which readers I draw from that particular pool?

My subset of readers must fit that demographic in some way, I suppose, because a significant portion of them read some of my posts, while some posts get no views at all. That’s no surprise. What is surprising are the types of stories that get thousands, or in one case, hundreds of thousands of views.

They’re specifically drawn to stories about women, especially if they’re Asian, or menopausal. I’m sure if I write about menopausal Asian women my page views will go through the roof. Originally, I read a few comments on my posts about single women in China, who are called “Left Over” women. After wading through some very filthy comments, I realized they hadn’t actually read the article. And I’m oddly okay with that, as long as they count as page views. Perhaps I’ve…

--

--

Carol Lennox. LPC, M.Ed.
Writers’ Blokke

Psychotherapist sharing new choices. Leans far Left. Mindfulness practitioner before it was cool. LPC, M.Ed. Helping you make a difference every day