on writing

New Writers: You Can Benefit From These Mistakes Of Mine

And stop yourself from calling quits

Lipika Sahu
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
5 min readJul 9, 2021

--

Image credits: Canva

I never had any proper writing experience, apart from the occasional ones I did as assignments and some intermittent diary entries. Yet, the moment I started writing as a writer, I fell in love with the process.

As I continued writing, I was enjoying it more and more. It was a great phase of discovering something new in myself and pursuing it.

But then, as time passed, things happened. Despite all my efforts, I was dragging myself. It felt like I have plateaued and it was all that I had. I must have run out of juice.

Self-doubt.

What followed was a pause. A big one.

I had given up.

I even started venturing into alternate things. Luckily, I steered back. But many don’t.

So, if you are a new writer like me- this article is for you.

Giving up prematurely

The initial phase of me as a writer was great. I was pumped up and could see the stars. I was all into the game and running full throttle.

The problem arose when I started expecting a quick windfall. I was expecting things…

--

--