No posts for a week, what happens?

What happened when I stopped posting for a week in Medium, and what happened when I resumed

Ilam Padmanabhan
Writers’ Blokke

--

I took a break from posting, what do you think happened next? Photo: Pexels- Ann H

I recently ran an experiment to see what would happen if I stopped writing for a week. That’s me saying I got busy for a week and did not find the time to write enough to publish! I did keep writing and improving some of my drafts but didn’t get any of them ready enough to hit the ‘Publish’ button.

I did feel the urge to write some semi-cooked post just to keep the algorithm warm, but then reminded me of my own promise! Read my post on the topic here. I would never post anything that is not worthy of your time. If I put all my effort in and then still fail, I can live with that. A few of my articles don’t even have ten reads, but that is ok as I gave my best shot.

I judge myself by the effort, and will leave the results to my dear readers!

Before this experimental week, I was posting almost every day. There were a couple of days where I posted more than one article. My views/reads were consistent, around 90 views and 40–50 reads per day. It started increasing steadily as the new posts kept feeding the algorithm.

Also, I started to realize how the curation worked and could almost predict which of my posts would be ‘distributed’ by…

--

--

Ilam Padmanabhan
Writers’ Blokke

Love to read and write about Software Engg, Agility, QA, Future of Humanity, AI, Books, Travel, Politics, Climate Change, Personal Finance, Writing & Life!