LIFE LESSONS

Nothing Is Forever: One Day It’ll All End, So Why Are You Shocked When It Does?

We need to be comfortable with letting go

Alejandro Betancourt
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
3 min readDec 12, 2021

--

Photo by DMCA from Pxfuel

I am a firm believer in personal growth and self-improvement. I know that life will pass you by if you don’t work on yourself. There is nothing wrong with having goals and working towards them, but it becomes unhealthy when they become the only thing you live for.

Nothing is forever. This simple phrase can crush us when we are feeling at our lowest, and it can also be the reason for our greatest joys. When we stop expecting something to last forever, we open ourselves up to all the possibilities that life has to offer. The world would be a much more beautiful place if we learned how to let go and accept what comes next…

In the past few days, I have read a couple of articles about people getting divorced. What has stood out for me is that these people say they never considered the possibility of their marriage ending that way. How could they not?

When I became a single parent, I never considered the possibility of one of my children dying. And when one of my sons needed a life-threatening surgery, I realized how mistaken I was. The only thing that is for sure is death; in that same way, we should own the fact that everything will come to an end.

I don’t know about you, but this revelation has made me feel incredibly free! As if a weight had been lifted off my shoulders, and now I can finally breathe.

Yes, it is sad when things come to an end — be it a relationship, a life, or even a job— but at least we can say that we gave it our all. We didn’t waste a single moment. That we took things as far as they could go, and when it was time to let them go… we let them go.

We should never be afraid to experience the full range of emotions that life has to offer. We should never shy away from love, happiness, or even sadness because it is all a part of the journey.

And yes, the journey sometimes sucks. But at least we are on it together! :) And we did so with love in our hearts. And that is the only way I know how to live! How about you?

If you enjoy what you’ve read, consider supporting other thousands of writers and me by becoming a Medium member. You can find my referral link below. I will receive a small commission without costing you extra money by subscribing to it.

Or, if you want to show your appreciation for me as I continue my writing adventure, purchase me a cup of coffee. It is greatly appreciated!

You can also follow me/support me on other platforms.

If you enjoyed this piece, you might also enjoy these:

--

--

Alejandro Betancourt
Writers’ Blokke

Entrepreneur, Investor, Executive Coach & Author. Single Dad sharing insights on Mindset, Philosophy, and Self-Improvement.