“OK, Mom. I’m Finally Home.”

This isn’t the home I thought it would be.

Adam J. Cheshier
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

** Re-published from a time circa 2016 **

It has been three weeks since I returned home from a year of backpacking in Europe.

I’ve not accepted that it’s over. Memories still run circles in my head.

The places. The adventures. The romancing. Most importantly; I gained a family. Individuals from all corners of the continent.

None of these things can escape my mind. I’m lonely, now, and no one around me can relate to my experiences.

I was lucky enough to grow roots on the island of Malta, where I studied for a semester. I made friends and relationships with dozens of fascinating people. But now I see it makes it all that much harder for it to be absent from your life.

There is something about international friendship that grabs you and never lets go. No matter the age, nationality, language, or differences you carry.

How to cope

I’ve had time to sift through this stage of loneliness. Here’s what I’ve gathered and methods I’ve used to cope:

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
Writers’ Blokke

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier