LIFE

People's Kindness Always Surprises Me

The internet might be a bit nicer than I imagine

Devina Halim
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Matt Collamer on Unsplash

The internet is filled with all kinds of people.

More often than not, you will see a lot of negative comments or even hateful ones. It's a scary place.

Thankfully, I encountered a good one recently.

I've been making food-related content on social media for a few months now. As a newcomer, I had to learn a lot of new things, from social media copywriting to food photography.

I'm not doing well either. To be honest, I'm having a hard time growing my account. With all the stress and overwhelming feeling, I feel like I've reached my limit. Giving up my dream is a choice with only one step left.

At this point, I finally decided to reach out to a food photographer. A total stranger that I’ve never met, let alone spoken to before.

The most powerful thing this person said was don't rush the process because it will take time.

Upon reading that, I immediately felt instant relief. I realized I have to stop comparing myself to other more successful creators and take my own journey.

It was just a sentence toward the end of that person's message. But, that sentence helps me tremendously.

I'm glad I reached out. Honestly, asking for help is not an easy thing for me to do.

Since I was young, I’ve always had the idea of being independent. I can do this alone, I have to do this by myself, that’s what I thought. My mom has always taught me to do things ourselves too.

Asking for help makes me feel vulnerable and incompetent, among so many other uncomfortable feelings. Being a shy person doesn’t help either. On top of that, I hate burdening people with my problems. There is also a possibility of being rejected. So, whenever someone was being kind to me, it always took me by surprise. I'm amazed people spare their time to help me or show just a simple act of kindness.

As I grow up, I know it’s okay to ask for help, a skill I'm still trying to master.

This is a message to other people on the internet (and in life in general), please be kind to others.

No matter how small your kindness is, it does matter! It might seem small to you, but it would mean the whole world to the other person.

Have you encountered an unexpected kindness from people on the internet? Let me know in the comments! :)

Hi, I'm Devina!

I'm a new writer on Medium. I'm a freelance writer and content creator (a title I haven't been used to if I'm honest). I blog here if you want to check out food-related stuff. Nice to meet you :)

--

--

Devina Halim
Writers’ Blokke

A journalist and a freelance writer. Talking about writing tips, self-development, and productivity on Medium. Work with me: hellodevinahalim@gmail.com