Put Me Back on the Plane

The Land of Fire and Ice is beckoning my return.

Crystal A. Wolfe
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Jonatan Pie on Unsplash

I never thought that one year after graduating high school, I would be married and leave the United States. With $302 in my bank account, clothes on my back, and all of my most prized possessions stuffed into two suitcases and a carry-on bag, I was on an overseas flight to be with my husband.

My husband was not much older than me and was assigned to his first duty station at NAS Keflavik, Iceland. I knew ahead of my arrival that I had a steep learning curve ahead of me. Not only was I a young newlywed midwest country bride, but I was still learning how to be an adult. Pay taxes, shop with coupons and learn how to cook. So far, my Hamburger Helper skills were solid. Although I was confident knowing that it would take some time to adjust, nothing prepared me to live in Iceland.

When I heard the pilot announce to the cabin to prepare for the descent, I lifted the plastic shade of my widow to peer below. My eyes widened at the sight, and I muttered under my breath, “I can officially say I am not in Kansas anymore.”

Watching the landscape roll by, I could not help but believe that I just landed on an alien planet. The black ground swooped past us was as dark as coal, with the only spark of color being the green moss blanketing the boulders.

--

--

Crystal A. Wolfe
Writers’ Blokke

Creative writer, full-time RVer, & travel enthusiast. Follwer her on her adventures on Facebook, Instagram & YouTube at: https://linktr.ee/CrystalAWalker