Queen of Wasps

Rodney van Lienden
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
2 min readJul 28, 2020

Among the things I did regularly, the events of the preceding days were sure to be a rarity, they had been too much for me to do again soon, however, they were surprisingly exciting to be a part of. Instead of the usual staying in and keeping it quiet, my queen demanded of me to do a different duty.

As per my duty, I had watched her do her chores daily, as the queen had requested I would do. She has done as expected, her workers running around while she sits on the throne. Her day was forever concluded by a supper light as can be. My queen has set upon me a wooden casket, ready-made for her to lay in once my job is done. When she had completed her supper, she proceeded with a walk through the hallways, allowing me to continue with the job set on me by my queen, the job that would conclude a day forever and start it anew all the same. As I followed her, my queen came to me and spoke thus:

“Tonight, my loyal follower, to-night will be the night to strike and conclude this day forever, so that we can start anew. Make it so no person will be sure of what happened, make it so she will not know before it is done, see to it with haste.”

As I further followed her into the darkness, I made sure she did not see me, nor hear me much. My wings have a way of making noise I cannot control, however, and thus she turned and faced me directly, making it so I had to further the plan right there and enter her via the fear-filled eye that regarded me with uncertainty. She fell dead with her remaining eye still open, in pace requiescat.

A sketch depiction of the murder, drawn by my lovely girlfriend

With this, my mission had been completed.

--

--

Rodney van Lienden
Writers’ Blokke

Myths, Legends and Fairy Tales. That's what I write, combined with some fiction and life stories of my own