Reddit: A world of helpful strangers

Shane Wilde
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
2 min readJan 2, 2022

--

And how a bunch of strangers became my friends!

Photo by Mohammad Hoseini Rad on Unsplash

I dove into Reddit for the first time this year. I became a Redditor about 3 months ago when I was having some trouble with an exercise that required more than the usual surface level Google search. Usually all of my other experience with Reddit was Google searches where I clicked on the site for a minute or two max and found my answer. Up to this point I thought I didn’t have a real need for it, but it’s so comforting to use and now I use it for a whole range of topics.

There were so many different forums and communities to join that I ended up just following a bunch based on things I already liked. For example, I started following some Star Wars and Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) communities. Sometimes, I ask questions, such as physical fitness questions and they’re really helpful to hear other people give suggestions and advice.

In my experience Reddit has been amazing, however, I know that there is a dark side which I have yet to experience. Most advice that I’ve received on Reddit has been helpful, and sometimes on a case by case basis, but I always take it with a grain of salt. Reddit is a land where people can anonymously comment on other people’s posts, and not everyone has your best interests in mind, so I always remind myself to look at everything somewhat…

--

--