Remembering Louis L’Amour

Larrylambert
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
3 min readFeb 14, 2022

--

He was my favorite fiction writer.

Creative Commons: cdrummbks

I haven’t read a lot of books of fiction in the last few years, but that hasn’t always been the case. In years gone by, I used to read a lot of westerns. While I liked various authors, Louis L’Amour was hands down my favorite. I’ve sometimes heard comparisons between Zane Grey and L’Amour but to me, L’Amour was a much easier and enjoyable read.

While Grey used a lot of verbiage to describe sunsets, and settings, to me L’Amour’s characters were more clearly defined, and his dialogue much easier to read.

L’Amour was an amazingly prolific writer, producing about 100 books, mostly westerns. I’ve read, probably the majority of those.

Some may say that L’Amour’s westerns had a certain formula. I agree. When I bought a L’Amour western, I pretty much knew what I was getting. And I liked it.

A few of my favorites.

Some of his books involved the fictional Sackett family. Any of the Sackett books were must-reads for me. Beyond that, a few of my favorites are “Conagher,” “The Quick and the Dead” and “Tucker.” Of course, a substantial number of his books became movies.

Tom Selleck and Sam Elliott were great heroes for L’Amour based novels

--

--

Larrylambert
Writers’ Blokke

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.