Rise |2018|

Cindy Rodriguez
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
1 min readDec 20, 2021
Photo by Al Soot on Unsplash

the last few months
the words ingested,
the actions chosen,
the memories conjured
have been daggers piercing through
to my very soul
the double-edged sword that divides
soul and spirit and joints from marrow
has filleted me open and I lie exposed
under the very light that not only judges
but forgives and heals
i have been tumbled to and fro
a myriad nights in a cold, vast desert
i am tired!
i have thirsted all my life
and i have hungered all my life
never knowing satiety
yes, i have even danced with serpents

to a thousand coaxing lullabies
the transformation is very violent
and painful to the core
and it must be
if there is to be any real change at all
buried in mud underneath lies
underneath discouragement
underneath self-loathing
self-centeredness and selfishness
by the grace of God
my roots grow slowly reaching
deeper and deeper
into the depths of His being
by trials and grace
by tears and love and forgiveness
i will rise, slowly rise out of the mud
and i will be cleansed
and they will know it was all

because of Him

--

--

Cindy Rodriguez
Writers’ Blokke

I’m an illustrator, letterer, writer, and founder of theheartstuffco.com — talking about faith, mental health, trauma, and my thoughts on life.