Self Care Sunday.

Rach
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
3 min readDec 5, 2021
image by author

God said that he rested on Sunday so why aren’t you?

I had to research different ways on how to have a self care Sunday. I heard so much about it being a trend and I would see people in fluffy robes while using the phrase as a hashtag. So I’m like okay let me try something that works for me.

In a world of chaos and routine, you know that it’s okay to take a day or a couple of hours to do absolutely nothing right? Be selfish. Take in moments by yourself. If your still busy on Sundays and can’t do the full day, do at least an hour. You owe it to yourself.

One of the best things about self care is that there isn’t a right or wrong way to do it.

I do my best to try to stick to a routine. The night before, I turn off my push notifications from social media because I don’t want that to be the first thing I see when I wake up.

I wake up early. If you want to sleep in, so be it. I find that waking up early in the morning is refreshing…new…and fulfilling. It’s quiet when it’s early. I seek God when it’s early. It’s peace for me.

When I open my eyes, I’m prompted to pray. God gave me another day when he didn’t have to. I owe him my gratitude. How can I have a day to myself if I don’t thank who gave me this day? This is a day that I’m not going to ever see again so I thank The One who made it.

Then, while in bed, I stretch. Feeling every part of my body stretch into relaxation. I take deep breaths. I take a deep inhale through my nose and I exhale slowly with my mouth open. I do this until I feel my mind clear. I pay attention to my breath. I pay attention to the peace surrounding me.

I start my skincare routine with exfoliating my face. There is something about the way the small beads feel when I scrub them against my skin that makes me feel renewed. After brushing my teeth I make some hot tea. I usually go for green but the type of tea depends on my mood.

I’ve been journaling since I was a little girl, but back then I would call it “writing in my diary” lol. I have two journals. One journal is for me to write down most of my prayers. The other is literally called “Self Care journal” where I write down what I did for myself that day.

I absolutely love burning candles during a lavender bubble bath so that is next. Take your time y’all and turn your bathroom into a spa. I found ideas from pinterest, tik tok, etc. to give my bathroom a spa vibe.

I have a list of books that I’m still reading but it’s hard for me to just read one book at one time. So take about a hour to read some of my books.

Sometimes I change up the order of my routine or I may add more or take away something, depending on my mood.

I appreciate the moments that I have by myself. I’m with my own thoughts and in my own space. I hope you find time do the same for yourself too.

Happy Sunday.

Photo by Maddi Bazzocco on Unsplash

--

--