Since You Last Loved Me

Lauretta Alonge
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
2 min readJul 17, 2020
Photo by Yuvraj Singh on Unsplash

Since you, my hair has grown

My lion’s mane blooming through the changing seasons.

Since you, my lungs have filled with the air of foreign lands

My horizons widened beyond the small town we both call home.

Since you, my shoulders have broadened

My spine leaning into the burden of post-adolescence.

Since you, I have become unfamiliar with the taste of blood

The fear of violent punishment as a result of yawning with my mouth open.

Since you, my lips no longer swell

Never again have I faced the fresh graze of knuckles at 3am.

Since you, my mind has found balance

My back pressed firmly against a plethora freudian armchairs.

Since you last loved me

I have wished for death.

Similar to the assault your bare hands lay upon my chest.

Since you last loved me

I have pondered the ideals of love

Landing graciously on the side of optimism.

Since you last loved me

I have battled against my mind.

Conversing in the golden hours about

for and against

pills or no pills,

blade or no blade,

breathe or don’t breathe.

Since you, I have fought for my life

And despite you

I have found joy.

--

--

Lauretta Alonge
Writers’ Blokke

Please don’t judge my writing based on my lackluster bio. Podcaster. Poet. Preacher. Another one word adjective…