Snowbound

Bjorn Rudolfsson
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
4 min readApr 25, 2021

--

Photo by NOAA on Unsplash

“Yes,” I said, “I understand, not much we can do about it I guess.”

“Yes, I’m really sorry about this, Dean,” said Mr. Petersen, my boss now for the past year. “We’re doing all we can to get someone out there, but the snow’s piling up by the foot. The whole damn city is gridlocked!”

An uncomfortable silence followed. “You’re sure you’ll be alright? It might take until morning.”

“No worries, Mr. Petersen. Wrong night to work late, huh?”

He chuckled on the other end of the line. “Yes, well, you just be careful, ok? You’re all set for food I hope?”

“Yeah, I brought some sandwiches. I’ll be fine.”

With one last admonition to be careful Mr. Petersen hung up, and I was all alone again.

Man, this sucked. I’d planned on doing some overtime, now that I finally had clearance to work after hours. I hadn’t planned on staying the night. The office was quiet and empty. Everyone else had left early to beat the blizzard, except for stupid little me. I could have risked it and tried getting home anyway if the doors hadn’t decided to malfunction. I was locked in good and proper.

I walked to the window and looked outside. A white wall of snow obscured the view. Ten stories down on the street, it was piling up. I couldn’t see a single soul. It was kind of eerie. What…

--

--

Bjorn Rudolfsson
Writers’ Blokke

Swedish software engineer with delusions of writerhood.