Snowflake Season

I am a snowflake, and here is the story of my not-so-short life

Rana's Words
Writers’ Blokke
3 min readDec 12, 2023

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

These obnoxiously oblivious humans think they know everything about everything, but they couldn’t be more tragically wrong. For as they invest their time in boasting about what they know (so little of), they miss the perfect opportunity to uncover hidden knowledge on everything they’ve already investigated. They look at the winter season from a scientific angle, tying it with weather and the planet’s orbit, and while that may hold some truth, they did not stop to think about the little creatures hard at work to execute perfect seasons for them.

How negligent and naive can they possibly be to assume that they’ve got it all figured out when they are barely scratching the surface?

My name is Sienna Snowflake, and I am here to tell you our story of the Snowflake population. We are born when winter is ready for us to make a grand appearance, and in order for that to happen, we need a child’s delight of winter time. In other words, when a child expresses their excitement for winter, a snowflake is born. Each one of us is unique, bearing our own pattern and intricate design, even though we know the human eye cannot admire us appreciatively without their manmade tools to help. And yet, we try to look presentable at all times anyway.

We are not waiting for praise from anyone. We simply exist to trigger the joy of a snow day for children, and we do so with profound pride. We help build a winter wonderland for those who enjoy snow as though it were their only source of happiness. We act as a blanket of cold comfort, soft silence, and gentle grace. I’ve overheard my snowflake friends say that even some adults appreciate our hard work. If that is true, then I believe my purpose in this life is more critical to fulfill.

It is easy to make children happy; their young minds and capacity for imagination allow joy to spread through their little bodies so easily. But adults require a bit more work to get them to crack a sincere smile, or a loud laugh. If I can give this to them, then my work is complete, and I am at peace. And so, every time a child believes in the joy of winter, and I am reborn, recycled, and repeating my mission every year, I descend the earth and deliberately target an adult’s nose.

I will fall on the bridge of their nose to tickle it, and I will patiently wait for a reaction. I’ve had some promising experiences that left me feeling proud of myself, and others where I felt defeated by the big gloomy cloud of adulthood hazing an adult’s vision and sense of youth. That never made me stray from my mission though; I will come back the following year and try to make you smile again.

As soon as I melt, I am taken back to my world for a hibernation period, where I am to awaken the following winter when another child believes in the joy my snowflake friends and I bring. It’s not the kids you need to worry about — it’s the adults who lost their ability to find happiness in the smallest things. It is my mission to restore that ability in them, for I will continue to believe in them, even when they do not believe in me.

My name is Sienna Snowflake, and I am a determined snowflake on a mission to spread effortless happiness in everyone I meet.

The question is, dear reader, is if can you help me spread this joy this winter season before the clock strikes midnight on New Year’s?

--

--

Rana's Words
Writers’ Blokke

There's infinite beauty in the countless worlds of fiction.