Stop Telling Me How Much Money You Make on Medium

Katie O'Grady
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2021

--

It’s obnoxious… and I don’t care

Has anyone else noticed there are two types of writers on Medium?

Those here for the money …and those here to write.

What a concept: a writer who wants to write, and not be a “content producer”.

Don’t get me wrong, I like money. It’s just, ugh…

I’m sick of seeing stories about earnings. It has me wondering if that’s all those people make money on?

It reminds me of one of my favourite series: The Hunger Games. There are those in the Capitol, all gaudy and outrageous. …And those in the districts, meek and surreptitious.

I see this when I bounce from Medium’s curated homepage to Medium’s Facebook support groups. The masses, not on elevated balconies, find their way into lowly galleries.

Stories about making money… to entice others to make stories… in the hopes of making money.

The irony of such a game.

Like what you read? Check out more from Katie O’Grady…

--

--

Katie O'Grady
Writers’ Blokke

I love my writing to be healing for readers. I write from the heart and am told my work is authentic.