Support another writer with your membership fee

Instead of just upgrading through the Medium website

Gerard Dekker
Writers’ Blokke
1 min readDec 3, 2021

--

Image from shroomery.org

I am new on Medium for a few weeks and have published 3 articles. I started to find followers and quickly hit the max. 3 articles I could read for free per month. As I am approaching 100 followers I decided to go for the paid membership and join the Medium Partner Program.

I could have just clicked the Upgrade button on the website or in my email. Instead, I asked one of my fellow medium writers to send me a referral link. She sent one and I used that link to upgrade.

It does not matter for me, as the fee is still the same, but it does matter for her, as she gets paid per referral. And now I am supporting her work! Isn’t that cool?

I think this is a nice way of paying something forward, but then reversed. You first do something for someone else and then, maybe somebody else will do the same for you!

If you like this article and if you like my work, please consider using my referral link if you are going to upgrade anyway. Thanks!

https://medium.com/subscribe/@dekker.gerard

--

--