The 4 Best Grammarly Alternatives

Free and paid, capable and feature-rich

Burk
Writers’ Blokke

--

Screenshot by author

Recently, I stopped using Grammarly. It did fine for me as a non-native English writer. I had some issues though.

I mainly ditched it because the Safari extension didn’t work with Medium. Luckily, I found a few good alternatives with both, free and paid options available, as with Grammarly.

Here are my top 4 Grammarly alternatives.

1. LanguageTool

This is the one, I’m currently using. LanguageTool is a fairly extensive Grammarly alternative that offers both a free version with a good amount of capability and a paid option that is powerful and more affordable than Grammarly’s premium service.

Grammarly starts at $12 per months for the premium plan, LanguageTool at $5.

LanguageTool website
Screenshot by author

On a sidenote, I found LanguageTool through the great writing app Ulysses (available only to Apple users).

Ulysses is a minimal, functional, and feature-rich writing platform for bloggers and authors alike. Its best feature is the direct integration of Medium (as well as WordPress, Ghost, or Micro.blog).

--

--

Burk
Writers’ Blokke

1.5M+ reads online — Check out my newsletter for free stuff & more https://byburk.net