The Best Performers of Every Current K-Pop Girl Groups

Tiara Larasati
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
4 min readJul 23, 2023
Credit: SM Entertainment, Starship Entertainment, Source Music, ADOR

After more or less of 12 years being a K-Pop fangirl, I finally understand what drew me into this fandom (beside the music of course). I love the razzle dazzle that K-Pop gives to the fans. I love the extraness that they have in their music videos, outfits, choreographies, and of course their performances. In fact I love the performance aspect of K-Pop so much that I enjoy watching weekly music show, despite knowing exactly what kind of performance they’re gonna bring.

I realize that I was captured by the way of the idols perform. And after years and years of being a fangirl, I now can distinguish which idol is a great performer and which one is not. And to be honest, not all idols are great performers. Some are exceptional, some are straight up lacking.

So today, I’m gonna list the best performers of 4th gen K-Pop girl groups. Why? Because I’m a girl group enthusiast and I just want to share what’s in my mind.

For the record, I’m not gonna list EVERY groups. That would be too much and exhausting so I’m just gonna list the ones I’m familiar with. So if your favorite is not on this list, I apologize in advance. And I’m gonna name the best performers based on their most current performances. I understand that some of you might disagree with me but hey this is my opinion.

And so without further ado, let’s start the list!

  1. aespa
Credit: SM Entertainment

I was pretty indifferent to aespa. Although I enjoy their music, I was not really feeling their performances. I understand that since they debuted during the pandemic, they didn’t have many experiences performing live, so it might affect their skill. But nevertheless, I admire Ningning so much. I think she always gives 100% during performances. She has an intense aura in her that captivates viewers’ attention. She always comes and conquers the stage.

Watch Ningning conquers the stage here.

2. IVE

Credit: Starship Entertainment

People always says that IVE is just ‘Wonyoung and friends’ group. Although I have to argue that the group is getting better at distributing spotlight but I can not deny that Wonyoung is the star. The girl knows how to catch your attention. Wonyoung can just standing doing nothing and people will still watch her. She is THAT powerful. She is a living proof that there are some people who are just born to be a star.

Watch this and see how Wonyoung steals your attention.

3. LE SSERAFIM

Credit: Source Music

LE SSERAFIM consists of five great performers. But I think there is one person who embraces the concept so well that she is basically the personification of the group’s concept and that person is Huh Yunjin. The concept fits to her like a glove. She is fun to watch and also very charismatic. She can make the jiggly-jiggly shakey move in ‘UNFORGIVEN’ looks decent and that takes talent.

Don’t believe me? Here, prove it to yourself.

4. ITZY

Credit: JYP Entertainment

Another group that consists of five great performers. Some people might say Yeji is the best performer, some might choose Ryujin, but I personally believe that Yuna takes the crown simply because she is very versatile. She slays any kind of concepts without looking awkward whether it be powerful, cute, sexy, you name it.

Watch and see how Yuna performs like the rent is due.

5. (G)-IDLE

Credit: Cube Entertainment

Soyeon. That’s it. I don’t have anything left to say. That girl is a queen(card) on stage.

Watch how the queen does her thing here.

6. NewJeans

Credit: ADOR

Hyein caught my attention so much during their debut (pun intended :p), but after watching a couple of their live performances, I am now convinced that Hanni is the best performer of this group. She always radiates bright energy and positivity. She might not be the best dancer in the group but she looks like she’s having the time of her life whenever she is on stage.

Watch this and let Hanni cheers you up.

7. STAYC

Credit: High Up Entertainment

When I watch STAYC’s fancam videos, I just can’t take my eyes off of Sumin. She is just mesmerizing. What I love the most about Sumin is that she never slacks off. She will always gives her best even when the camera is on the other members. She also radiates so much energy that you can’t help but to smile when watching her.

See how much energy Sumin radiates in here

--

--

Tiara Larasati
Writers’ Blokke

I try to write something that bother me so I dont pent up my feelings. If my writing somehow relates to you, that will be the greatest thing for sure!