THE BLANK PAGE

A.J.Ricky
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
Sep 13, 2021
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Today, I sat to write my diary,

A large part of the page already filled,

But hardly any of it fulfilled.

Striking out the events that shoulda happened,

I began to write the events of the day,

Slowly, I realized it was a replica of yesterday.

Flipping through the pages of tomorrow,

I could not find an empty one,

Until I reached the very last one.

The last page of my diary was blank,

So blank, there wasn’t even a date,

Luckily for me, it wasn’t too late.

Tore and slipped the blank page in

For tomorrow, is a present best left unwrapped,

A new dawn awaits me, for I am no longer trapped.

Tear yourself a blank page too,

Surprise yourself as you fill it up,

Cause someday it’s gonna catch up.

--

--

A.J.Ricky
Writers’ Blokke

I wouldn’t call myself a writer. It’s just that I love to write. Stories that move me. Hopefully, move you too. To get in touch: a.j.ricky19@gmail.com