The Flaws Within (Poem)

Favour Olumese
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
1 min readMar 25, 2022
“Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it” (Proverbs 4:23, NIV).
Image by Author

I tell myself
“The goal is impact, not recognition,”
But I notice my heart skipping
When I go unnoticed.

I tell myself
“Humility is the key to knowing God,”
But I see myself flush
With pride when I am praised.

I tell myself
“I want to be a good fellow,”
But when I look within,
I find the undesirable.

Oh that the Lord help
This mortal me
In my pursuit
Of His righteousness and holiness.
Amen.

Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it
(Proverbs 4:23, NIV).

This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfil the lust of the flesh (Galatians 5:16, KJV).

Flee also youthful lusts: but follow righteousness, faith, charity, peace, with them that call on the Lord out of a pure heart (2 Timothy 2:22, KJV).

Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead (Philippians 3:13, NKJV).

--

--

Favour Olumese
Writers’ Blokke

Favour Olumese is a lover of the creative use of words who utilises poetry & non-fiction to relate humanity and divinity in this ticking phase called life.