The Foolproof Way to Overcome Writer’s Block

Three strategies to get the words flowing

Sarah K. Butterfield
Writers’ Blokke

--

Three strategies to overcome writer’s block
Photo by Hai Phung on Unsplash

So, you’re stuck. The words aren’t flowing like they used to. Your writing routine has turned upside down. Your thoughts are too big to process. The pressure to write is crushing you. For whatever the reason, your words have dried up.

I have been there too. Some people call this “writer’s block” whereas others believe there is no such thing. I call these the “desert seasons” of writing because it feels as though all my ideas and words have dried up.

How can we overcome writer’s block and make our way out of this desert season? Instead of kicking ourselves, instead of forcing words on a page, instead of questioning our vocation as writers, I suggest three habits we can cultivate to keep our momentum even when we’re not writing.

Keep an epigraph journal

If you pick up any book about writing, I guarantee it will tell you two things: all writers write, and all writers read.

Reading is important. I can’t see how anyone can write and not read. I’m not just talking about only reading literature, but reading in the sciences, philosophy, mythology, history, about the arts, current events — everything that one can possibly read. This feeds the imagination.

--

--