The Ghaf Tree

John Rabone
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
Jan 17, 2021
Image Courtesy of: WWF © Christophe Tourenq

Sitting below my tree, as I did yesterday and the day before remembering my father doing the same, I asked him once “Why are we not rich?”

“We Bedouin are wealthy my son, wealthier than you imagine” he replied.

“You see…the Ghaf is sacred — survives our droughts, is evergreen showing you the presence of water, it can save your life”. We roam these sands amongst the Oryx, Falcons flying overhead and when rains fall, life sprouts from the sands”.

“These are my riches; creases and callouses on my skin things I’ve done and you…are why I loved and lived.

The Ghaf Tree was written as part of an online fun ‘Drabble’ in December 2020. The ‘Ghaf” is the National Tree of the UAE and its protected status is a symbol of the trees importance to the local culture and its history.

© John Rabone 2021

--

--

John Rabone
Writers’ Blokke

I have my own Design company in Dubai & UK. Cycling & music addict. I write mainly fiction, enjoy mentoring design students at my old University in Nottingham.