The Lost Art of Letter Writing

Yours truly, from many oceans away

Alyssa Chua
Writers’ Blokke

--

“To send a letter is a good way to go somewhere, without moving anything but your heart.” — Phyllis Grissim-Theroux

Have you ever written letters? No, I don’t mean those hastily-crafted chats and text messages we send to friends on a daily or weekly basis. I mean those honest-to-goodness letters that require a pen and paper to write, that take a few days to get to the recipient.

My first brush with letter-writing was with childhood friends who lived in the same country as I did but in another province. Letters were our only way of staying in touch because the internet was new and computers and cellphones weren’t really a thing back then (yes, that’s how old I am). Back then, letters would fly back and forth and be our only means of staying updated with each other’s lives.

I also had friends that I saw every weekend, but we’d also exchange letters for the fun of it. I grew to look forward to those as well, spending most of my days after school listening to the scritch-scratch of pen on papers as the ink bled out of the pen and words bled out of my fingers.

I don’t know about you, but I believe there’s something magical about letter writing. The smell of paper. The print of pretty stationery that you keep to write to special friends…

--

--

Alyssa Chua
Writers’ Blokke

Event planner. Traveller and culture explorer. Writer embodying Gustave Flaubert’s mindset to “write of ordinary life as if one were writing history.”