The Plaza Hotel: Rum Swizzlers with My Bride-to-Be

Bonni Brodnick
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
4 min readOct 25, 2021

--

Instagram post: #celebrating the #moment at #theplazahotel with my #bridetobe. #daughterlove #motherhood #cherishtheday #grateful and #blessed

“Do you think John would like this one?”

My daughter and I met in New York City to go to our favorite jeweler on West 47th Street. She was looking at a tray of gold and platinum wedding bands, one of which would be selected to give to her fiancé. On their wedding day, which was getting closer, not only would he be getting a ring, but the grand prize: our daughter.

My heart was overwhelmed as I watched ACB. Not only because it was such a special moment, but because I was lucky enough to be there to see it. I experience these moments as if they are on steroids. Why?

Four years ago, on Easter Sunday, my day started like any other. I rinsed my face four times for good luck, got dressed, and went downstairs.

Standing there was the love of my life (my husband). I asked if there was any milk left for my English Breakfast tea. No matter. I would pick some up on the way home from getting my mother, who lived a half-hour away.

Before I left, he grabbed me and whispered, “I can’t wait to see you later. Drive safe.”

Everything in my life was going well. My marriage was in a good zone. We were two baby-boomers enjoying the ride. As empty-nesters, we were proud of our children who were succeeding in their lives. I…

--

--

Bonni Brodnick
Writers’ Blokke

Writer. Creative. Thinker. Humorist. Author of "My Stroke in the Fast Lane" + "Pound Ridge Past." A proud Stroke Survivor. Visit me at bonnibrodnick.com