A Travel Incident That Changed My Life

A valuable life lesson that I learned during my first solo trip

Vaibhav Bhosle
Writers’ Blokke
3 min readJul 20, 2021

--

Photo by Yogendra Singh on Unsplash

I hate when people say that they have covered this place or covered that region. You do not cover destinations when travelling. It is not an obligation because places are to be experienced and not covered.

My first exposure to solo travelling was when I went to Goa with a friend. It was the first time I stayed in a hostel and met backpackers from across the world. Listening to their stories made me curious, and I could not stop myself from taking a leap of faith and travelling solo.

Here I was, sitting at the airport by myself. Looking at my fidgeting hands, one could sense my nervousness. It was my first solo travel.

I was 27. I know it’s too late by western standards. But I was new to this concept of travelling alone. I belong to the concrete jungles of Bombay, India. After failed multiple plans with my friends to the Himalayas, I thought, why not go alone.

I am writing this article particularly to highlight an incident that occurred during this trip, and the most valuable lesson I learned.

After roaming in the hills of Dharamshala, I took a bus for Dalhousie. A 5-hour zig-zag bus ride almost made me sick, till I reached the hostel.

The hostel walls were full of graffiti that boasted the local sites. I couldn’t get enough of the picturesque mountain view from the wide balcony. The pine-clad valley of Dalhousie took my breath away in an instant.

It was late afternoon. I went to explore a nearby cafe to sip a cup of coffee. The weather was appropriate, it wasn’t too cold. Perfect enough for wearing a fleece jacket and not freeze.

After returning to the hostel, I enquired the host about the places I need to visit tomorrow. I was all pumped for the next day, till it started raining. Let me correct it, it was pouring. It didn’t stop for an hour. I thought I am here only for a day, and I cannot be not going out and exploring.

I was walking to and fro in the common area. Not a lot of travellers were present in the hostel. There was only one guy from Hyderabad, South India who could sense my irritation.

He initiated a conversation and told me about his travel stories. He sounded like a pro traveller who had been to almost all the states in India. Being an entrepreneur, he could work from anywhere. So he booked a flight whenever he found it convenient to travel.

He asked me if I was worried because of the heavy downpour.

Of course, I was! Why wouldn’t I be? I can’t spend my time confined to the hostel.

What he told me after that was pure wisdom. He said that one should expect the unexpected when travelling alone. Never plan anything because it will only disappoint you. Travelling alone is all about experiences. He said he could spend the next three days in the hostel, reading a book and looking at the valley. Why think about a situation that is beyond your control?

His words blew me away. It had not stopped raining, but my anxiety level had dropped. When you are travelling, you never know what might happen. But anything that happens is an experience. Now I believe that no experience is a bad experience if you emerge alive out of it.

This wisdom applies not just to travelling but to life in general. Few things will always be beyond our control, and when you stop thinking about those, you end up being more in control with yourself.

When you travel alone, you meet people from different places. Everyone has something to teach. The things they have learned after years of travelling. I feel that it is about the people that you meet than the places you visit.

--

--

Vaibhav Bhosle
Writers’ Blokke

Hi, I am here to share my learnings with the world. You can check out my travelogue ‘My Iranian Diary’ on Amazon. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0985FZ9W3