Three Regrets of a Decade Lost to Drinking

Moving back to move forward

Martin Friend
Writers’ Blokke

--

Regret is a rubber band. It snaps you back to right where you don’t want to be, time and again. I spent a decade with my toxic twin lovers, Chablis and Vodka. And when I freed myself from drinking and ditched them, there they were: 10 years that could have turned out so differently, and me in front of them, like looking at a crumbling monument, imposing, built by my own choices, brick by brick.

“We crucify ourselves between two thieves: regret for yesterday and fear of tomorrow” — Fulton Oursler

When I put down the bottles, I could have gotten drunk on the shame and guilt of drinking in the first place. Half-remembered scenes, like car lights passing by in the night, or overly bright flashes of a red carpet of Oh You Didn’t Do That, I felt like water was rising to the point of drowning. I remember regret from before, though: The regret while drinking, regretting that things weren’t, couldn’t be, different. Until they were.

Regret is a prison cell. Piecing together a life lived with high-functioning alcoholism for ten years, I was overwhelmed. I thought I’d left the prison of addiction, and still served a sentence of regret and guilt.

  1. Regret for lost opportunities

--

--

Martin Friend
Writers’ Blokke

Observations, love, family, friendships. Shards of living today, and their edges. Aspects of lucid living without substances. Free sarcasm, with heart.