Trailer Trash

The worst misconception about full-time RVers

Crystal A. Wolfe
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
4 min readJul 2, 2021

--

Photo by neil kelly from Pexels

When I tell people “I am a full-time RVer,” almost 95% of the time I get a quick eyebrow raise and some praise. A lot of them will say, “Wow! I wish I could do that” or “I bet that is a cool lifestyle.” Overall, I receive many supporters. However, that 5% erks the $h!t out of me and have equated me to being “Trailer Trash.”

Not that I need to explain myself to others, but I have a Master’s Degree, successful career, traveled to more than eight countries (so far), and have had a debt-free life for five years. By the way, I accomplished this long before I started living as a full-time RVer. Of course, these hasty judges do not know that. All they see is what is on the surface: I live in an RV.

There are three common misconceptions I hear about full-time RVers:

  • Only criminals live in RV parks. Hearing this one has made me spit wine out of my nose. If you know me, you know I love my vino, but not in my sinus cavity. In the short time I have been living this lifestyle, I have met so many very successful (and wealthy) individuals. Last year, I met a CEO of an insurance company and a teacher who instructs English online to Japanese students. Both work out of their RV full-time and live a nomadic life simultaneously by traveling the country. Last month, I met a hero who was a…

--

--

Crystal A. Wolfe
Writers’ Blokke

Creative writer, full-time RVer, & travel enthusiast. Follwer her on her adventures on Facebook, Instagram & YouTube at: https://linktr.ee/CrystalAWalker