“Trust is good, Verification is better”

Vivek Jha
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
3 min readDec 14, 2021

How I was setup for a con

Image from pixabay

I read this quote on my friend’s laptop, which reminded me of an incident.

It was a long journey, my first time traveling alone. Being the introvert I am, I had booked an upper berth in the train coach—an attempt to create my private space there. Anyway, I was in the middle of the journey, hooked to my phone, surfing things I am not too proud of. I noticed a man with a desperate look on his face. He looked in the mid-30s, well dressed, carrying only a water bottle. I didn’t pay much attention to him at first, but he took 2–3 rounds around the same compartment. After looking at his phone, he came towards my berth.

“This berth is vacant, right?’’ he asked.

“Yes,” I replied. The berth in question was in front of my upper berth. The occupant had been deboarded two hours earlier.

“Okay, thanks,” he threw his water bottle on it and left.

The man came back after some time, got settled in his seat. I was watching some anime. He glanced towards me, and from his expression, I could tell he was yearning for a conversation. I again looked at my phone. My method of polite refusal.

“I am traveling with my sister, but she got a different coach than me,” he explained. I was dreading this but still nodded to acknowledge his comment. I am not a rude person.

He went quiet for a while. I guess he sensed my reluctance.

“This train stop at the XYZ station, right? Sorry, I am not a frequent traveler,” he asked again.

He got me in a corner. There was no escape. “Yes, it will stop there.”

“My sister has to deboard there, thank you,” he smiled.

I smiled and nodded.

“By any chance, do you have change? I need a smaller denomination,” he flashed me two bigger denomination currency notes. I pretended to look into my wallet and replied in negative. I did have the change on me; it was just that I didn't want to be involved.

“I have to search in other compartments then. They also don’t have,” he said, pointing to the passengers in the lower berths. They were looking out the window, lost in the surroundings.

“I have smaller notes but not that much money,” I don't know why I said that.

“Oh, okay. I will ask others.”

Again quiet for half an hour. Then he suddenly left his berth. He didn't return for another half an hour. The train decelerated meanwhile, hinting at the approach of a station. The man again popped out of nowhere.

“Hey, I couldn’t exchange it. Can you give me the money you have I need it urgently as my sister has to deboard here,” he said impatiently.

“Uh, okay. Give me your note,” I picked my wallet and started counting. He also took out the bill. I gave him the money, he counted; it was only a little less.

“It is a two-minute stop. Let me buy something then I will give you the exact amount,” he said, his arm which was extended slowly moved back toward the pocket.

“No it's fine,” I said, I hesitated.

“Hey don’t you trust me? I am not a conman. Just wait for ten minutes,” he flashed a charming smile.

Why wouldn’t I trust him? I mean, he met me what, two hours ago? That’s plenty time, right? He also had the water bottle on the berth suggesting it is occupied and he will return. What’s more? He had to help his sister!

I could have gone with him and stuck with him till he returned my money but no, I decided to trust him. Well, it was not a huge amount, but I still got conned. I have learned to use my brain better since then.

Follow me for more stuff.

--

--