Two Tips That Helped Me Discover My Writer’s Voice

Write with humanity and warmth, and other practical lessons from ‘On Writing Well.’

Nino Padilla
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

“Writing is hard work. A clear sentence is no accident. Very few sentences come out right the first time, or even the third time. Remember this in moments of despair. If you find that writing is hard, it’s because it is hard.”― William Zinsser

I’m consoled to find this is the case. As a writer, I write mostly about philosophy because I want my readers to understand how our beliefs and decisions shape our lives. However, philosophy is notorious for being inaccessible, and that puts people off.

Because of that, I made it my goal to simplify philosophical issues for the everyday reader. The challenge now is to write using my own voice without simply imitating other philosophers.

On Writing Well by William Zinsser is a classic guide to writing non-fiction. While the author had questionable ideas, I still learned a plethora of writing wisdom. It’s an excellent guide for the kind of writer I am. These are the lessons the author imparted to find your writing voice.

1. There Isn’t An “Exact” Way

Asides from following grammar and syntax rules, there isn’t a “right way” to write…

--

--

Nino Padilla
Writers’ Blokke

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.