We need to stop stigmatising mistakes

Learning from mistakes matters

SURYASH KUMAR
Writers’ Blokke
2 min readFeb 21, 2022

--

Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

Everyone makes it, but everyone hates it. If you are learning something new or in a new situation, you are more than likely to make it. It’s an important part of learning, yet we stigmatise it.

It’s mistake.

People scorn mistakes, but they forget, at times, they have made mistakes. The mistake is not yours, her, or his mistake. It’s just a mistake.

Mistake and comfort zone

People make mistakes when they attempt doing something they have never done before: when they are out of their comfort zone, so if someone isn’t making mistakes, it doesn’t mean the person is perfect.

It means that person is living in a comfort zone. The Comfort zone inhibits growth. It stops you from becoming the best version of yourself.

Mistakes are criticised; the criticising culture starts from school and is fostered everywhere after that at college, work, etc.

As Thomas A. Edison said,” I haven’t failed; I have found out 10,000 ways that won’t work.”

I am not asking you to deliberately make mistakes because mistakes signify growth or are a natural part of the learning process.

But before taunting someone who has made a mistake, you must remember that mistakes help the person grow and get better at whatever the person is trying to be good at.

I read it somewhere; if everyone takes the same tested path, we may never discover or invent something new. For example, Columbus could have never discovered America if he had taken the same route as those who had travelled before him.

Not learning from mistakes is a mistake

Mistakes aren’t themselves bad but not learning from mistakes is bad. If you are repeating mistakes, then you are not progressing.

Better would be to learn from other people’s mistakes. If you see someone is failing because of particular habits, you would want to avoid those habits.

My baking experience

Making mistakes is not bad but not learning from them is terrible. When I started baking a cake, it would end anything but a cake. But as I kept baking, I learned from my mistakes, and my cake got better and better with each attempt.

You can read my cake baking experience:

Keep making mistakes; learn from your mistakes; keep growing

--

--

SURYASH KUMAR
Writers’ Blokke

I share my perspective through my writing to which you may disagree. You can contact me at coolsuryash@gmail.com