What Happened When I Didn’t Write On Medium For 2 Months Straight

My stats page, stories, followers count and audience statistics.

Vritant Kumar
Writers’ Blokke
4 min readJan 6, 2022

--

Photo by Iewek Gnos on Unsplash

This is my 4th story of 2022 (wow! 🤯). But my 5th last story was published on October 29, 2021 (oops! 😭😅).

And then, I took a significant jump, quite big, I guess and skipped the whole November and December.

Glad that I’m writing now…

Have you ever faced this that when you start to write after a long break, it suddenly starts to feel difficult. Suddenly, words do not flow as they used to. Writing becomes intimidating. Right?

But after a day of writing or two you start to feel comfortable. Like you’re regaining your past writing-self.

It’s weird. But it’s true.

Same happened to me. But apart from this, many other things changed…

Stats Page

Yes, how come this is not supposed to change, huh? After all, when you stop writing, you’ll obviously see a drop in your engagement and thus affecting your charts in a negetive way.

So, as I’ve already said earlier that my last story of 2021 was published in October, I also want to add that I wrote like “a story a day” in that month.

And then no articles at all in November.

No articles in December as well.

With that disappointment, let’s now look at the charts.

First one is the snap of stats page of October (approx.) and second one is of December. You can also notice the fall in views in the first graph as it includes significant part of the month of November as well.

image by author
image by author

Yes, there’s a huge difference. I obviously regret not posting anything for the whole month of November but I think the articles that I wrote in October continued to perform pretty well in November. And hence saving my numbers from dropping to absolute “zero.”

It’s true said: “Either it’s pain of discipline or it’s pain of regret.” Now I know.

Let’s take a look at DECEMBER

December was no different from November. I didn’t post anything. Nothing—at — all!

Here’s a snap of the stats page. And to be honest, I was kinda assured that this is gonna happen.

image by author

Now Let’s Take a Look at Audience Stats

image by author

This page looks so-so to me. “No disappointing change,” I’d say. Haha!

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank all of you guys who have followed, subscribed, or have read my article. Thank you so much.

Here’s the full snapshot, with some history.

image by author

Final Thoughts

All in all, I’d say I’m treated linearly for my actions, or inaction, if I can say so. Thank you so much for all of your love & continued support. It feels so good to be finally back on Medium.

So I think that’s all for this article. See you soon and until then, buh-bye! 👋❤️

Here are some of the cool books that I read during my dormancy phase on Medium. All of them are true gems but I can’t recommend that middle one enough. Just go grab it, read it, no, devour it, and thank me later. 😉

Byeeeeee! Love y’all! ❤️

image by author

--

--

Vritant Kumar
Writers’ Blokke

I write to EXPLORE as much as I write to EXPRESS. 6x top writer. newsletter: vritant.substack.com