What I Learned Going Down the Facebook Marketplace Rabbit Hole

If you’ve ever asked, ”Could I sell this?” You probably can.

Courtney Leigh
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by chrissie kremer on Unsplash

While taking my daily stroll in the local park, my phone buzzed, and I checked to see who among the three people who message me had sent a message.

To my surprise and delight, it was a stranger who wanted to give me money. No, it wasn’t a scammer, or an MLM pitch touting candles or essential oils.

“I’ll take the hat if it’s still available!”

A buyer on Facebook Marketplace wanted a hat I’d been trying to sell for months. Within 24 hours, we met in a parking lot — two suburban white women doing a deal. She told me she hosts “hat parties” and handed me cash.

As I drove away clutching the cash, the words of a long-ago flea market stall owner replay in my head:

“Everything sells eventually.”

The hat was the result of too much champagne more than 20 years ago at a trendy London lunch spot. I was on a different trajectory. For one thing, I was going to be a person who wore hats.

Harrods was right around the corner, and that’s where I bought this black velvet hat, imagining I’d wear it to an embassy ball or something. Who knows? I certainly didn’t envision myself…

--

--