What To Do After Accomplishing Your Dream

Does the quest end there?

Veena Vijayakumar
Writers’ Blokke
2 min readAug 25, 2022

--

A man on the top of a mountain.
Photo by ROMAN ODINTSOV from Pexels

Recently I accomplished a dream of mine that I had for 10 years. I was overwhelmed with happiness and joy. But I was confused about what I should do next. A kind of emptiness engulfed me and I was lost. I always kept thinking about the moment when I reach my goal, but I never thought about what to do after.

It’s like all your life you try to climb the mountain to get to the top and when you reach there, the view is great but the real question is that “do you want to stay there or move to the next mountain?”

It’s better to have goals instead of having a single goal for the level of consistency to be intact. For example, someone’s goal might be to get 10 million views for their video on Youtube, and after achieving that they're not going to say “Hey, I accomplished my dream, so I am done.” Everyone wants more and that’s obvious. Sometimes things will get harder especially after achieving the first milestone. We might be clueless about whether we will get the kind of success as the first time but that shouldn’t stop us. Either we may surpass our previous success or fail. But the real failure is not trying. So regardless of the outcome, we all should be ready to climb the next mountain when we are done with the first.

--

--