When It’s Time to Take the Next Step

Why going out of your comfort zone will always be scary.

Adam J. Cheshier
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Kalen Emsley on Unsplash

Seven months ago, I returned from what was the greatest experience of my life. I was in Europe for a little under a year last year and created some of the best memories I have to date.

I learned monumental things about myself. I was pointed in a direction of lifelong travel. And, most importantly, I found a career that excited me for the first time in my life.

I made friends who became brothers and European crushes became sweet memories.

Next month, I am going back.

I’m returning to Europe for my second go-round and couldn’t be more excited. I already have plans to meet up with friends whom I haven’t seen in almost a year. I have plane tickets booked to places I’ve never been. It seems the opportunities ahead are endless. And yet, I still have an underlying fear about it all.

I’m scared that my first time in Europe, perhaps the greatest nine months of my life, can’t be topped. I’m afraid that everything I do from now on will be compared to my first time abroad.

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
Writers’ Blokke

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier