Where I’m From Doesn’t Define My Writing

Don’t refuse to give me a chance without checking my work first

Alyssa Chua
Writers’ Blokke

--

I’ll be completely honest with you: looking for freelance writing is hard when you don’t come from one of the “top countries”. And by “top” countries, that means the US, Canada, or the UK or any other country where a majority of the people speak English.

Every time I have to fill out an application form, I am brought up short by that phrase, that string of words, dashing my hopes again to the ground: only open to US, Canada, or UK citizens who have mastery of American English or British English.

One of my biggest frustrations as a writer is that I’m from a country where people are willingly scammed into doing writing work at such a low cost because a) it gives them a little cash anyway and b) it sometimes always pays more than the hourly rate we have. I’ve been there with the rest of the content mills where the people bid lower to get the job, but since enrolling in different writing programs, I’ve learned my worth and the worth of the work I do.

Unfortunately, the rest of us who are trying to create an income stream for a fair and decent amount of money in exchange for the services we give (research, writing out the actual content, proofreading, editing, you name it) end up being associated…

--

--

Alyssa Chua
Writers’ Blokke

Event planner. Traveller and culture explorer. Writer embodying Gustave Flaubert’s mindset to “write of ordinary life as if one were writing history.”