Why do I need to quit obsessing about gaining my 100 followers? (A Confession)

I cannot underestimate the power of gaining your first 100 followers and neither can you.

Fima Eli
Writers’ Blokke
2 min readJan 31, 2022

--

Pencils of different sizes and colors
Photo by Jess Bailey on Unsplash

We all know the hype, the anticipation, and the sense of victory the first hundred give you and then writing about it sharing it with the world.

Nothing wrong with going crazy thinking about your first 100 followers but nothing to lose your sleep over. Right?

Many of us are guilty of the sin; of waking up in the morning to check your medium notification, before every meal, every fifteen minutes after posting, and so on…..

I didn’t think it would get to this that I would be writing about it.

I need to get a hold of myself.

The anticipation is eating me up. I think about it morning and evening. Every day I google things related to medium, trying to get a better understanding of the platform.

It is embarrassing confessing how much I think about it. Writing on medium feels like therapy, you can express your desires, and obsessions to try to get over them.

When I started on medium, never in my wildest dreams I would have thought that I would write about such a personal topic. Here I am, confessing to the audience all over about my desperation to gain my first hundred followers.

Now that I have it off my chest, I might get some sleep tonight!

--

--

Fima Eli
Writers’ Blokke

A writer by heart and soul who also loves animals, books and nerdy TV shows.