Why I Don’t Write Conclusions Anymore

Daniel Silva
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
1 min readJan 30, 2022
Image from Canva

The simple version is that I don’t like them.

Writing conclusions reminds me of my college years. We had to write extensive essays and, in the end, provide our conclusions about it.

The end goal was our evaluation as students. This means we weren’t writing for someone to enjoy and interpret according to their will.

That is my problem with conclusions. I believe it limits the reader's possible to form their own conclusions.

I find it even ridiculous when used to summarize everything that was already addressed.

Many publications recommend you to include a “Final Thoughts” section so the article looks a bit more well structured.

Well, if the article is already well structured, chances are the conclusion won’t add more to what you already had to say.

Nonetheless, I still read articles that compose a conclusion. But don’t expect me to write one soon.

Inspired by a fellow creator, I decided to challenge myself to publish 100 short-form articles within January. This is article number 73.

--

--