Why I Keep Writing Despite Not Having 100 Followers

Manu Maccotta
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
4 min readDec 8, 2021
Photo from Green Chameleon on Unsplash

If you’ve been interacting with other writers on the platform, you’ve probably realized an upsurge of posts about reaching ‘100 followers’. Despite being relatively new to the platform, even I have noticed the increase starting last summer.

Why This Is Happening

I won’t spend too long on this as you probably know already, but in case there are any new writers reading: Medium has introduced a new policy where writers now need 100 followers before they can join the Medium Partner Program, to consequently allow them to earn money from their stories.

Find out more information on the Medium Partner Program here.

Consequences and Thoughts

This has meant that many writers are pushing to reach the 100 followers mark, to potentially make that little bit more money every month from sharing stories. Also, a lot of stories that share ways to reach 100 followers have gained larger audiences in recent months because of the new policy.

One of the most popular strategies that have been going around is the “Follow for Follow” one, where you follow any writer that follows you back to gain a win-win scenario and keep growing.

I would like to take a moment here to say the following: there is a chance that if you are reading this, you are here because of a comment I left on someone else’s post saying that I wanted to connect with other writers.

The above is a genuine feeling I have, as I truly want to connect with writers on the platform, receive feedback on my stories, and interact with the community. I am personally not against the ‘Follow for Follow’ strategy or leaving comments on other stories. This is because I understand it and love to support fellow storytellers, and I also appreciate the support I get from them — so whether this is the first story you read from me or followed me before, thank you for dedicating your time to reading my stories.

Why I Keep Writing

There is one thing that I have realized that comes with focusing on getting 100 followers which I am not the biggest fan of: the expectation to receive 100 followers by simply writing one story, and not wanting to contribute anything else.

I understand if your first article blows up you may receive a lot of attention, but reaching 100 followers only through one or two stories wasn’t the norm before, and it shouldn’t be now.

It can take time to connect with your readers, for you to express yourself and to find your style. Writing stories is not about how many followers you have.

I know some writers may face financial difficulties, and I know it can be hard to publish stories if one has other commitments, but when I started seeing this trend of reaching 100 followers, I asked myself: “why do I write?”

I only have 40 followers as I write this, and I am so grateful to all of them as I didn’t even think I would have this much support by the end of the year. However, I doubt my current stories will be able to change people’s lives forever, or that I’ll manage to make a lot of money from them.

It sounds like a cliché, but I write to express myself through my words, and hopefully have a positive impact on readers. I write to communicate emotions, to share stories that hopefully shed light on topics that I and my readers care about … I write as a way to understand and create my journey and that of others.

Yes, the above has some elements that can only happen if someone reads my stories, but I would keep writing even if I had 0 followers, as I find joy in not only expressing myself but also reading and learning from the stories of others.

I do not need 100 followers to keep writing, as I receive joy from sharing my stories and grow with them as well.

If by any chance I reach 100 followers, I don’t want readers who simply followed for a follow back — I want to interact with them, get to know their thoughts and feedback, and read their stories as well, to get to know them better.

What now?

So if you’ve reached this part of this story — once again thank you. I want to end this post with something tangible, for everyone reading and to further connect with fellow writers and storytellers.

Leave a comment with your username AND the link to a story you have written — not necessarily your last one, simply the one that you feel you want to share.

I will follow anyone who shares something they have written (there is no need to follow me first), as I think it's one of the most organic and genuine ways to connect with other writers, and learn about their interests and passions.

I am very grateful to this community for making the start of my writing journey so welcoming. I am still rather new to the platform, but please leave any thoughts or feedback on what I wrote, as I am open to all thoughts and opinions.

Have a great day.

Manu

--

--

Manu Maccotta
Writers’ Blokke

Here to share my curiosities and stories whilst connecting with other creatives and bloggers :)