Why I’ve Started Turning My Phone Off Once A Week

Amber Pitt
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2021

--

Hudson (right) & Ryda (left)

As last year came to an end, we welcomed the new year. I remember staring at my sons, Hudson now 17 months and Ryda now 3 months, I was taken back with just how quickly they were growing.

I like to think of myself as a good mother. They have everything they could need. However in a world full of technology and a society so accustomed to spending much of our time on phones and laptops it’s easy to let that time slip away.

I’m currently working on building a number of online income streams before our family sets off for full-time travel around Australia in March however the time it has been taking away from my children has not gone unnoticed.

I owe Hudson and Ryda my life. They changed me in more ways than I could ever explain. I put in so many hours for them, for their future. Unfortunately children do not see it this way. That is why it’s so important to remind yourself to take a step back and enjoy time with your loved ones frequently.

Working is such an important part of life though no where near as important as our children. This is why I have made the decision to completely shut off my phone and laptop for at least one day a week. The research, the blogging, the emails, they can wait until tomorrow. Today, today belongs to my boys.

--

--

Amber Pitt
Writers’ Blokke

Writer & Entrepreneur. Just living my best life and hopefully providing content you all enjoy!